MX Trax
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 2012 ktm sx 150

Question 2012 ktm sx 150

Hello all,
    I have been riding four strokes for several years now but am eager to get back on a two stroke, and with a bike like the 150, still being able to race competitively!
    But I have completely forgotten about maintenance, I have read the thread on the 2008 KTM144 and it is apparent you need to keep on top of it.
    So i am just curious, is the 2012 jetting alright (have the problems with the earlier 2007/08 models with them running too lean been ironed out)
    How often should you swap the piston? (using vertex pistons) gaskets? and the bottom end?
    Is there anything else that you need to watch out for?

Also what are peoples opinions of this bike?

Many thanks for any replies, regards will

Default Re: 2012 ktm sx 150

They are very good bikes. The jetting can be lean if your running 40 or 33:1 on the main jet. If you do run those oil ratios the bikes like a big main jet. 185 standard but as big as a 210 is needed in the heavy going. The needle clip like any small bore needs changed every day your out if the weather has changed.

If your a fairly quick rider I would check the rings every 10 hours and a piston change every 20. If you are fast fast every 5 and 10. Bottom end checked every piston change and once a year get the mains and big end done regardless.

Gearing wise I think they are a little long and need a tooth up on the rear.

Suspension I am not sure how the spring rates compare to the older 150's due to the linkage and valving changes this year. But I imagine they will be soft ish and set for a 9.5 to 10.5 stone rider.