MX Trax

Thread: Newbie (Veteran) to track riding - any advice...?

New

Default Newbie (Veteran) to track riding - any advice...?

Hi all.....I'm a veteran motocross rider (after a 25 year break i am going to start riding practice tracks again) and
    I have a modern bike (2015 CRF250r) which i have not yet ridden at a track.
    Living only 20 minutes from Apex Motocross near Worcester i am contemplating attending for a session.

Given that I have a new bike with no experience on it, and i'm new to the modern game,
    is it a bad idea to go to Apex, unless I have ridden other practice tracks first?
    My only experience of late has been on enduro bikes.

It looks like a great setup at Apex, but i wonder if i would be a hindrance to other track users....ie going too slow, not knowing the track layout, etc.

The alternative is the Thornbury MX tracks which also look great.

Cheers

Dave

Default Re: Newbie (Veteran) to track riding - any advice...?

Hi Dave,if you live that close why not have a chat with the people that run the circuit,i.e.newcomers practice or keeping to the left till you get more confident. We all had to start somewhere. A experienced rider will spot a newbie 3 turns ahead and ride accordingly. You may get a couple of 'doorhandles ' coming a bit close but just hold your line (and your nerve) and do your own thing. Roll the jumps first untill a bit more confident......walk or look at the track before you ride....chat with other riders....we're still a big family really. Enjoy.

New

Thanks Kiwii, i decided to go down to the Thornbury MX meeting at the weekend as my first track day.

It was pretty challenging so i am quietly glad i didn't go up to Apex first.

The Thornbury MX tracks are more than enough for me, for now, until i get more experience and bike time.

Cheers

id personally say, just get on the bike, and get some seat time..
    Its practice days, you dont need to go crazy, or have it pinned down the straights..